Following the news that Senator Troy Jackson has been re-elected President of the Senate for the 130th session of the Maine Legislature, Maine Democratic Party Chair Kathleen Marra released the following statement:

“For the last two years, Senate President Troy Jackson has provided steady leadership for the Maine Senate, and I know that he’ll continue his proven track record of ensuring that all Mainers have a seat at the table. Along with Majority Leader Nate Libby and Assistant Majority Leader Eloise Vitelli, I’m confident Maine Senate Democrats will help us meet the challenges that lie ahead as we deal with the ongoing pandemic and economic crises that have hurt working families across the state. We’re lucky to have these passionate leaders at the helm for another term.”

With today’s vote, Senator Troy Jackson becomes the first person from Aroostook County to serve two consecutive terms as President of the Senate.