As part of the Rise & Organize Rally, we honored three extraordinary Maine Democrats for their commitment to the Party and the state.

Sam Shapiro Award Winner - Wayne Kinney

In politics and policymaking, it is often qualities of loyalty and dedication – coupled with a steadfast sense of character and humor – that make all the difference. Dedicated in recognition to former Maine State Treasurer Samuel Shapiro, this award is presented biennially to a Democrat whose loyalty, dedication, and ebullience lifts up our people, and plays an important part in the success of our party.

Vivian Powell Award Winner - Tom McClain

Conferred in memory of the late Vivian Powell, this award is passed on to a volunteer whose commitment to the grassroots, “in-the-trenches” efforts of the Party marks a significant contribution to the life of our political process, and through it the success of our state.

John Walker Memorial Award - Patricia Washburn

Throughout his life, John Walker represented the highest ideals, principles, and precepts of our party and this country. His consistent efforts towards finding common solutions to common problems – towards improving the lives of Maine people – united groups of individuals who, absent John’s vision, would be disparate. The Maine Democratic Party is proud to present the John Walker Award, in recognition of an individual whose vision and dedication leave a significant mark on his or her fellow citizens and the state as a whole.