Maine Democratic Party

Basic information about our proposed 2020 delegate selection plan

The national convention will be July 13-16, 2020, in Milwaukee
Uniform Caucus Day is March 8, 2020
If there is a primary, it will likely be March 10, 2020
The state convention is May 30, 2020
The filing deadline to run for delegate will be May 15, 2020

Maine Democrats will elect 32 delegates and two alternates
This is a caucus plan. If a presidential primary is established, this plan will be amended

16 delegates will be elected at the congressional district level:

7	8
1 st District	9
2 nd District	7

Each congressional district will elect an alternate.

After the congressional district elections have been held, eight more delegates will be elected.

PLEO*	3
At-large	5

^{*}A PLEO candidate is a Democratic elected official at any level, or someone holding office in the MDP, or a county or municipal Democratic committee.

Eight delegates are automatic, unpledged, delegates. They are:

Gov. Janet Mills, Reps Chellie Pingree and Jared Golden, and former Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell MDP Chair Kathleen Marra, Vice Chair Erik Gundersen, and DNC members Rep. Diane Denk and Sen. Troy Jackson

The delegation must be balanced by gender.

The MDP will establish representation goals designed to make sure the delegation reflects Maine's Democratic voters. Goals have been set for African Americans, Asian/Pacific Islander Americans, Hispanic/Latinx Americans, Native Americans, Youth, LGBTQ+, and for People with Disabilities.

An Affirmative Action Committee has been formed, as required by DNC rules. It is tasked with outreach among the various Democratic constituencies and training people on the delegate selection process.

Starting in September 2019, the MDP will begin an outreach plan to inform and train people who want to be involved in the delegate selection process. Information will be posted on the MDP website, and presenters will be available to meet with county and municipal parties, and with groups having an affinity with the MDP.

For more information contact:

Lisa Roberts, MDP Executive Director, lisa@mainedems.org
Bob Wake, MDP Rules Committee chair, donkeyrulesmaine@yahoo.com
Wayne Kinney, Affirmative Action Committee chair, j.wayne.kinney@gmail.com