# **Maine Democratic Party**

# Updated basic information about our 2020 delegate selection plan

The national convention will be July 13-16, 2020, in Milwaukee
The presidential primary is March 3, 2020
Municipal Caucus Day is March 8, 2020
The state convention is May 29-31, 2020, at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor
The filing deadline to run for national delegate will be May 15, 2020

Maine Democrats will elect 24 delegates and at least two alternates at the state convention based on the presidential primary results.

Delegates to the state convention will be elected at the municipal caucuses.

16 national delegates will be elected at the congressional district level:

1 <sup>st</sup> District	9
2 <sup>nd</sup> District	7

After the congressional district elections have been held, eight more national delegates will be elected.

PLEO*	3
At-large**	5

<sup>\*</sup>A PLEO candidate is a Democratic elected official at any level, or someone holding office in the MDP, or a county or municipal Democratic committee.

## Eight delegates are automatic, unpledged, delegates. They are:

Gov. Janet Mills, Reps Chellie Pingree and Jared Golden, and former Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell, MDP Chair Kathleen Marra, Vice Chair Erik Gundersen, and DNC members state Rep. Diane Denk and state Sen. Troy Jackson.

### The delegation must be balanced by gender.

The MDP has established representation goals designed to make sure the delegation reflects Maine's Democratic voters. Goals have been set for African Americans, Asian/Pacific Islander Americans, Hispanic/Latinx Americans, Native Americans, Youth, LGBTQ+, and for People with Disabilities.

The MDP is reaching out to inform and train people who want to be involved in the delegate selection process. Information will be posted on the MDP website, and presenters will be available to meet with county and municipal parties, and with groups having an affinity with the MDP.

### For more information contact:

Lisa Roberts, MDP Executive Director, lisa@mainedems.org
Bob Wake, MDP Rules Committee chair, donkeyrulesmaine@yahoo.com
Wayne Kinney, Affirmative Action Committee chair, j.wayne.kinney@gmail.com

<sup>\*\*</sup>Alternates will be elected on the same ballot at at-large delegates. Each presidential candidate earning delegates will have at least one alternate.